Travis94

Really frustrated....

I have never been able to do my own goalkicks and I am in my last preseason of high school ball. I told my coach that I would be able to take my own kicks before our first league match. I have no idea what I am doing wrong, though; I have tried keeping my eyes over the ball, widening my plant, even the foolish leaning back. I have made very little progress, but it just isn't good enough for me. This is really a frantic stretch for help, if anyone has ANY advice as to how I can improve my kicking so I can quit embarrassing myself and be able to take my own goalkicks, please share it!

With regards,

-Travis.

As you run up, lean back (if your right footed) put your left foot as high as the ball and smack it with your bone beside your toe,

im new to gk but goalkicks are simple.

get out and practice in a park on ur own, u should be able to work out what works for you.

have you ever tried a shorter run up?

Thats probably a good shout. players seem to think a longer run up will result in a longer kick. personally for me, a couple of light steps and a kick will get more distance then a fast long run up. simply because im getting the technique right.

I have tried a shorter run up. It does seem to work better than my 6-yard approach. I think I may also combine a shorter run with algis123's idea. I have great leg strength so I am sure that once I can get the technique down then I will be able to bomb it to at least halfway. Thanks for the advice, guys!

I have always had the same issue, but my ankle is pretty much screwed now so just cannot get the power from the floor...

From the hands, never an issue!

FOLLOW THROUGH WITH THE KICK - Don't just kick it, and let your foot stop. As soon as your foot touches the ball, carry on, with your foot "pushing" forward with the kick. This is the same technique that people use for some kinds of passing.